An Indulgent Post.

7 Mar

Hi Everyone,

As the title suggests this is my indulgent day and  I am focusing on a big thank you today.

For probably the majority of those who follow our happenings here at Sawmillers you wouldn’t be aware that yesterday Saturday was my birthday, and was one of those milestone ones if you know what I mean, and what a day it turned out to be. Kevin, George, my husband and James my son were going to take me out for dinner in Wellington, so you can imagine how surprised I was when I walked into Stonestead on the pretext of collecting Kevins’ wallet & having a cuppa, to find all my quilty friends there, I had no idea that this was being planned, there was the hugest chocolate Birthday Cake, iced with my name and beautifully decorated, and all my friends singing Happy Birthday.

What a wonderful evening it was, everyone had bought dishes for dinner, a wonderful array of savoury and desserts, there was champagne, the cake of course and also cards, but also the most exciting thing of all was that each of these ladies had all embroidered a block in red work and now I have enough to make a quilt, even one lady who only returned from a trip away on Tuesday gave me a William Morris Fat Quarter which I can use in the quilt too.

As you can see by the picture above the blocks are beautiful , so I have big thank yous to Dianne, Julie, Liz, Bridgit, Cheryl, Mamie, Kath, Helen, Patricia, Carol, Libby, Adele and also Beverley who phoned me from England! I also have a huge thank you to Kevin for allowing a group of ladies to use his home for the ‘do’ and George and James for going along with things. I can understand now why certain happenings which seemed a bit puzzling at the time occurred, for instance Bridgit seemed to have an issue talking and looking at me at the same time over the past few days, there was also a lot of whispering too, then there was the Thursday Stitchers who didn’t appear to be stitching much on Thursday, I know now it was because they were all hiding there half completed blocks from me when I went to speak to them! I feel very privileged to know you.

Thank you all for what will be a wonderful memory that I will treasure always.

Until next time,

Happy Quilting

4 Responses to “An Indulgent Post.”

  1. julz 7 March, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Tee Hee – we had so much fun, and seeing your face looking so “shocked and surprised” was priceless.

    It was a wonderful evening, full of laughter, great company, and delicious food. Thank you Kevin for being so obliging having all of us descend upon your home for the evening.

    Happy Birthday my dear friend. Love Jxox

  2. Beverley Dixon 7 March, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    the redwork looks fantastic Yvonne. I look forward to seeing it when I’m home again. Can’t wait for a real scone either!

  3. Jenny Benton 9 March, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Happy Birthday Yvonne

    So pleased to read that you had such a lovely surprise.

    • Yvonne Matthews 9 March, 2010 at 9:07 am #

      It was wonderful

Leave a Reply

